On 3 Public Relations (On3PR) each election cycle presents its federal candidate qualifying report, along with the most recent campaign finance reports, for our clients, colleagues and media.

Federal candidates had until noon, Friday, April 24 to file paperwork to run for federal office in Florida’s 27 congressional districts. There are two open congressional seats, Rep. Ted Yoho (R-FL-03) and Rep. Francis Rooney (R-FL-19). Florida’s two U.S. Senate seats are not up in 2020.

The report may be accessed by clicking here, but first, a few notes to keep in mind while viewing this federal report.

  • Contributions to federal campaigns must be personal dollars, not corporate, and are limited to $2,800 per person, per cycle (primary and general). One may, however, contribute a total of $5,600 now, designating $2,800 for the primary election and $2,800 for the general election. Federal PACs may also contribute. In this report, the ‘contribution’ totals and the ‘cash on hand’ totals may include combined primary and general dollars, but candidates may only spend dollars allocated for the primary election on Tuesday, Aug. 18, 2020 and the remaining for the general election on Tuesday, Nov. 3, 2020
  • Contributions, expenditures, and cash on hand totals include this election cycle (January 1, 2019 through the most recent report, March 31, 2020). Federal incumbents may ‘carry over’ their dollars from cycle to cycle, unlike state candidates which are required to close out their campaigns after the election.
  • Campaign finance report information was secured via the Federal Election Commission website at www.FEC.gov.
  • Candidate qualifying information was secured via the Florida Department of State’s (DOS) Division of Elections website at www.DOS.STATE.FL.US.

A few highlights:

  • Congressman Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL-25) is the only incumbent who does not face any opposition, thus is automatically re-elected.
  • Congressman Neal Dunn (R-FL-02) only faces write-in candidates in the November election, all but assuring a return to Congress.

Top Five in Contributions to Date:

  1. Candidate Casey Askar, GOP, District 19 Open Seat / $3,506,230,00
  2. Cong. Brian Mast (FL-R-18) / $2,940,692.06
  3. Cong. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-D-26) / $2,888,662.81
  4. Cong. Vern Buchanan (FL-R-16) / $2,294,226.95
  5. Cong. Donna Shalala (FL-D-27) / $1,915,958.85

Top Five in Expenditures to Date:

  1. Cong. Brian Mast (FL-R-18) / $1,591,813.56
  2. Cong. Matt Gaetz (FL-R-01) / $1,284,221.76
  3. Cong. Vern Buchanan (FL-R-16) / $1,196,792.20
  4. Cong. Debbie Wasserman-Schultz (FL-D-23) / $1,031,506.11
  5. Cong. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-D-26) / $733,038.73

Top Five in Cash on Hand:

  1. Candidate Casey Askar, GOP, District 19 Open Seat / $3,482,873.79
  2. Cong. Charlie Crist (FL-D-13) / $2,936,588.14
  3. Cong. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-D-26) / $2,195,441.55
  4. Cong. Brian Mast (FL-R-18) / $1,516,371.12
  5. Cong. Donna Shalala (FL-D-27) / $1,445,817.75